Penrice, a short distance north of Angaston, is steeped in history, with early connections to the mining industry of the Barossa. Founded by Richard Rodda, the mining captain for George Fife Angas, it was the first section of German Pass as the track wound its way from the valley floor through Angaston and the Barossa Hills to the River Murray. The mining connection remains today with the extensive Penrice Soda Holdings mine, the Seelander Stone and Sand Supplies and the scars of Patching's ironstone quarry.
Penrice was named after a village near St Austell in Cornwall where some of the early settlers originated. Penrice was a vibrant town in the 19th century with a double story flourmill, Young's Hotel, butcher shop, brickworks, general store, 1855 Methodist Church, carpenter/undertaker and bakery. The church later became a Congregational Church (1911-1919), and is now the Salem Lutheran Church, which was started in 1919 by Pastor Franz Lehmann (father of renowned Barossa winemaker Peter Lehmann).
Penrice offers charming B&Bs and a self-guided heritage walk is available from the Angaston & Penrice Historical Society (0885 643 222). The streets are named after Captain Rodda’s children, and Davey Crescent was named after the Davey flour milling family. See if you can spot the undertaker's room, the church, remnants of stone walls and the spring that supplied the water for the flour mill.