The hamlet of Light Pass is enveloped by the vineyards of the valley floor, with the spires of two Lutheran churches reflecting the early European settlement of the area. A mud and straw schoolhouse built in 1846 still stands; along with a group of wattle and daub farm buildings and thatched-roofed barns dating from the 1860s. Luhr’s Cottage, an original settler’s home, has been painstakingly restored and authentically furnished in traditional German settlers’ style and is now open as a museum seven days a week. Wander through the cottage garden to the front door of this unique four-roomed pug (mud and straw) and timber (red gum) cottage, built by Johann Heinrich Luhrs, the first Lutheran school teacher in Light Pass.
Gibson Wines is a short drive from the main street on Willows Road, offering a delightful cellar door experience, alongside its historic pug cottage. And just outside Light Pass, at the intersection of Light Pass Road and Kalimna Road, is a monument to Colonel William Light and Captain Charles Sturt, two of the most iconic names in South Australia’s pioneer history, who came through here in the 1830s. Light was looking for a pass east through the ranges to the Murray River and subsequently the settlement of Light Pass was established in 1844.