The towering silos that stand sentry over Stockwell give a clear sign of this village's grain farming past. Samuel Stockwell founded the village in 1853 and the mill he built on nearby Stockwell Creek was still producing flour over 100 years later.
In that time the village was host to many visitors (and many more cattle!) as an important stop along the overland cattle route from New South Wales, at one time proudly boasting a blacksmith, bootmaker, a hotel, a number of stores and post office.
The pub remains, now called the Stockwell Hotel and known ubiquitously as "the Stockie," while the Post Office has found a new lease on life as the very charming "that little place" serving coffee, home made cakes, delicious light lunches, and their rightly famous Italian-style hot chocolate.
The addition of the Barossa Peppertree Cottage, which comfortably sleeps up to five guests, means there's even more reason to spend a little time in this beautiful corner of the Barossa.