Truro is a gateway to the Barossa, situated on the north-eastern edge of the region, and is a convenient stop for visitors traveling to or from the Barossa. First surveyed by John Angas, a son of George Fife Angas, in the mid 1800s, Truro was named after a town in Cornwall, and settled in 1850 by Cornish miners who were eager to make their fortune from copper found nearby. The unsuccessful mines meant that the copper that was mined here was soon succeeded by cereal farming and grazing.
History buffs will want to see the Sturt Memorial Cairn, located in Truro main street. It is one of a chain of commemorative cairns erected in 1944, marking the route of the famous expedition to Central Australia, led by Captain Charles Sturt. Visitors may also explore the interesting buildings dating back to the 1850s, including the Uniting Church, primary School, bank, post office and council chambers.
The rustic charm of the old Country Fire Station building has been retained to provide a unique tasting environment for Craneford Wines cellar door. A delightful 100 year old miner’s cottage is now home to Barossa Olive Garden. And weary travellers can rest their heads in Angel’s Rest B&B.